Home PromotionsJazz PromotionsJazz Sale → Jazz Icons 4 - Art Blakey - Live In '65

Jazz Icons 4 - Art Blakey - Live In '65
Regular Price: $19.95
On Sale For: $13.96

Jazz Icons 4 - Art Blakey - Live In '65


Jazz Icons DVDs feature full-length concerts and in-studio performances by the greatest legends of jazz, filmed all over the world from the 1950s through the 1970s. Beautifully transferred from the original masters, each DVD features rare performances that have never been officially released on home video and, in many cases, were never broadcast. Each DVD includes a booklet with liner notes, rare photos and a memorabilia collage. Produced with the full support and cooperation of the artists or their estates. This DVD boasts an exceptional one-hour concert by Art Blakey from Paris in 1965. This performance showcases one of the few undocumented Blakey bands, the New Jazzmen, featuring the incomparable Freddie Hubbard on trumpet, as well as Jaki Byard on piano, Reggie Workman on bass, Nathan Davis on sax and, of course, Art Blakey on drums-truly a powerhouse quintet! Freddie Hubbard's incendiary playing on Blue Moon and the blistering 24-minute version of his own Crisis, serves as a cogent reminder that he was one of the most innovative trumpeters in jazz history. 60 minutes.

Audio/Page Samples (if available)

Table of Contents:

Catalog: 21946400
Publisher: Hal Leonard
Composer: Blakey, Art
Artist: Art Blakey & The Jaz
Arranger: Live In '65
Voicing: Dvd

Safe Shopping

Pender's Music, Music - Sheet, Denton, TX

© 2014 - Pender's Music Co. Powered by Active-e